About Us

Douglas County Courthouse Built in 1899Douglas County was named for U.S. Senator Steven A. Douglas (1813 to 1861). Senator Douglas was a Democratic candidate for the Presidency against Abraham Lincoln in 1860, and he was an enthusiastic Oregon supporter in the Congress. When first created on January 24, 1851, the County was part of Umpqua County. On January 7, 1852, the Territorial Legislature created new boundaries and renamed it Douglas County.

Location & Forest Lands

The County extends from sea level at the Pacific Ocean to 9,182 foot Mt. Thielsen in the Cascade Mountains. It has the entire Umpqua River watershed within its boundaries, and it contains nearly 2.8 million acres of commercial forest lands.

Approximately 25% of Douglas County's labor force is employed in the forest products industry which includes numerous sawmills and veneer plants, as well as one pulp and one particle board plant, and numerous shingle, shake, pole and other wood products plants. Agriculture is an important factor in the economy with field crops, orchards, and livestock as major products. The County Parks Department, the first in Oregon, has over 50 parks in the system. They range from large facilities with overnight camping to small boat launching access points.

Over 50% of the land area of the County is owned by the Federal Government. These lands are managed by the U.S. Forest Service and the Bureau of Land management.

Cities & Population

The 2010 census counted 107,667 people in Douglas County. There are 12 incorporated cities in the County:

  • Canyonville
  • Drain
  • Elkton
  • Glendale
  • Myrtle Creek
  • Oakland
  • Reedsport
  • Riddle
  • Roseburg
  • Sutherlin
  • Winston
  • Yoncalla

Facts About Douglas County

  • Established: January 7, 1852
  • Location: Southwestern Oregon


  • Square Miles: 5,071
  • Acres: 3,240,360

Average High Temperature

  • July: 84 Fahrenheit
  • January: 48 Fahrenheit
  • Annual Rainfall: 35 Inches (Roseburg)


  • Minimum: Sea level
  • Maximum: 9,182 Feet


  • 1980 Census: 93,750
  • 2000: 100,399
  • 2010: 107,667

County Seat

  • Location: Roseburg
  • Population: 23,379 (2018)


  • Number: Twelve
  • Populations: 170 to 18,635

Principal Industries

  • Agriculture
  • Fishing
  • Forest Products
  • Tourism

Points of Interest

  • Crater Lake National Park
  • Diamond Lake
  • Douglas County Museum
  • Galesville Dam
  • Mt. Thielsen
  • Oakland Historic District
  • Oregon Dunes National Recreation Area
  • Salmon Harbor
  • Umpqua Lighthouse
  • Vineyards and Wineries
  • Wildlife Safari

Scenic Drives

  • Cow Creek - Glendale to Roseburg
  • North Umpqua River and Waterfalls
  • Umpqua River - Elkton to Reedsport
  • Upper South Umpqua River