News Flash Home
The original item was published from 2/21/2023 3:54:35 PM to 3/17/2023 12:00:01 AM.

News Flash

County News

Posted on: February 21, 2023

[ARCHIVED] Douglas County Special Districts Election is May 16

2-12-20 County Clerk Logo Final Rev 1


Douglas County Special Districts Election is May 16


(Douglas County, Ore.)  Douglas County Clerk, Daniel Loomis would like to remind citizens that the Special Districts Election is coming up on May 16, and the deadline to file for special district candidacy is March 16, 2023.  Special districts act as an independent form of governance addressing a specific community need. These districts are established and board members are elected by constituents to meet specific service needs for their local communities, such as schools, roads, water, fire protection, hospitals, parks and recreation, ports, sanitary, cemeteries and transportation.  Not every community has all of the same types of districts. Special districts are guided by various laws and statutes, and have non-paid elected board positions.


There are currently 222 special district board positions open for filing in Douglas County during the special district election this May.  Included with this number are 31 district board positions that we share with Lane and Coos Counties.  Individuals who meet the eligibility requirements and wish to file for candidacy for one of the open board vacancies must submit their forms (and $10 fee) to the Douglas County Clerk’s office no later than 5:00 pm on March 16, 2023.   This can be accomplished in-person or by printing and mailing the form via the U.S. postal system.  Please note that individuals who wish to file for candidacy for one of the shared board positions will need to file with Lane and Coos Counties directly.  Generally, the term for a special district board position is four years. Elections for special districts in Oregon are held every two years, in the odd numbered years (2021, 2023, 2025, etc.)  


For more information about the available special district board vacancies, go to the Douglas County Elections website or click here.  For a complete list of available Douglas County Special Districts board positions click here


Additionally, the deadline to register to vote in the upcoming May 16 election is 11:59 pm on April 25, 2023.  For those Oregon residents who are U.S. citizens and who have a valid Oregon driver’s license, permit or DMV-issued ID card, you can securely register on-line at the Oregon Secretary of State’s website: Register to Vote in Oregon (and select the “Register to Vote” icon).  This link can also be used to check registration status, change your address or update political party affiliation.


The Douglas County Clerk’s office is located in Room 124 (ground level) of the Douglas County Courthouse, located at 1036 SE Douglas Avenue in Roseburg.  Correspondence can be mailed to:  Douglas County Elections, P.O. Box 10, Roseburg, OR 97470.   If you have questions, please call (541) 440-4252.

Facebook Twitter Email